Kentucky boy wants some fish!

5 replies to this topic

#1 malecota

malecota
  • NANFA Guest
  • WKY

Posted 27 October 2019 - 07:17 PM

Howdy everyone! 

First, I'd like to complement the board, the people that keep it running, and it's patrons for cultivating what appears to be a respectable community of like-minded individuals.  I've learned a lot already from the numerous guides and posts about native fish keeping.  Thank you for being here and open to inquiring minds.  As a terminal hobbyist, I've navigated quite a few toxic, dysfunctional forums over the years.

Growing up in rural Kentucky resulted in a becoming a lifelong fisherman and admirer of the great outdoors.  I've kept various pets from my early teens to now (32) - reptiles, fish, small mammals, dogs, cats.  With the exception of man's best friend, I find myself returning to fish keeping.  I'm currently about 7 months into a successful 75g freshwater community (corydoras, danios, cichlids) and have kept FW invert tanks, brackish, blackwater, planted high tech to fake plants and no tech, from community to aggressive species - just about everything short of straight saltwater or those ridiculous custom tanks seen on tv.

Anyway...

On a fishing trip during the summer, after reeling in a bright orange and neon blue, feisty male longear, something dangerous began occuring...

I started thinking about how cool it would be to keep, observe, and interact with the same longears, redears and pumpkinseeds I've been catching for years!

Now that some time has passed and the idea remains, there's another motivation that has emerged:

My father passed away just over a year ago; fishing was where we bonded and has made it a lot different for me now.  We fished together often, even after I moved away, got married, started a career.  I do still enjoy fishing, I just haven't acclimated to the change fully- the memories are very strong and the silence of nature is somehow even more silent.