55 gal stream tank - Longear question

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 kiahw

kiahw
  • NANFA Member
  • Missouri

Posted 13 September 2021 - 07:17 AM

Hi everyone, long-time lurker first time poster here. First off, you guys are awesome and I have learned so much just by lurking so thanks for what y'all do. Second, please feel free to redirect this post if it's more appropriate somewhere else (I don't consider myself an 'advanced' aquarist but this seemed like the best fitting board).

Okay, so, I am relatively new to keeping an aquarium. Have done some upkeep on one for work, but have never established my own. Husband got me (finally!) a 55 gallon for my birthday. It is almost done cycling and I have spent a lot of time planning the community. However, the hub really, really, wants me to keep a Longear. I have nothing against them, they're one of my favorite stream fish, but I'm concerned about their aggressiveness in a community tank with other stream fish.

The other species I'd like to keep are:

Red Shiners

Southern Redbelly Dace

Rainbow and/or Greenside Darters

Some topminnow, unsure species yet

I don't personally think it's a great idea, but I've found some mixed info and would love input. If there is a way to make it work I'd be tickled. I also plan on planting the tank and am worried about the Longear tearing up the vegetation. 

Any input is appreciated.

K

#2 Robert Lamb

Robert Lamb
  • NANFA Member
  • Chattanooga, TN

Posted 13 September 2021 - 07:29 AM

If you want any smaller community fish with a Lepomis, dollar and orangespots are the only real options imo. They are also the only 2 that are plant safe to my knowledge.

You could also substitute the Lepomis with Enneacanthus, all of which are community safe and very attractive

#3 JasonL

JasonL
  • NANFA Member
  • Kentucky

Posted 13 September 2021 - 06:51 PM