Photo

Darter fish colorations

5 replies to this topic

#1 Ktvokdheart606

Ktvokdheart606
  • NANFA Guest
  • Kentucky

Posted 04 November 2021 - 01:47 PM

Hey, Im really new to keep fish in general and the fish are actually my husbands but he is gone working all the time so I take care of them. He is new to fish as well. We have, I believe and 15 gallon tank maybe 20 not really sure. We have minnows, darters and two crawdads. The other day I found one of the smaller darters dead. No clue what happened. I woke up this morning and noticed the darters were very dark in color, like a lot more black and not really eating when I fed them. I am curious if them turning darker is okay or is there something wrong? We have had them a month and they had been doing fine eating. I dont know any of the terms for the stuff in the take but they have bubbles going in from filter and a bubbler thing in take so Im pretty sure they have plenty of oxygen as well. At one point my husband decided to give them worms, they ate them but I noticed the pieces not eaten become a giant like white blob almost like mold. I pulled out the pieces I could find but he cleans the tank and I dont how to correctly. Just want to make sure they are okay because Ive become attached to the little fellas. I dont talk to my husband much while he is gone to another state working and like I said he is fairly new to all this as well. Ive attached two photos as well of what they look like right now.

Attached Images

• D443BF7F-ECCE-49C1-993A-7B4B0C996C5C.jpeg
  • DF06684A-F164-45D1-8C02-4E3E2CC1B7CC.jpeg

#2 Ktvokdheart606

Ktvokdheart606
  • NANFA Guest
  • Kentucky

Posted 04 November 2021 - 03:02 PM

Update: just found two more darters dead. I dont know what to do and its killing my soul that this is happening! Please help!

#3 keepnatives

keepnatives
  • Regional Rep

Posted 04 November 2021 - 08:02 PM

Hard to tell but how big are the crayfish?

Mike Lucas
Mohawk-Hudson Watershed
Schenectady NY