Photo

Looking to breed Bluegills, what Male to Female ratio should I stock?

• Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 cornandcrawlers

cornandcrawlers
  • NANFA Member
  • northeast iowa

Posted 12 November 2022 - 12:46 AM

I have a 75 gallon planted tank with small gravel substrate on one side and sand substrate on the other. I believe the substrate and size of tank should be adequate for bluegills to spawn, but I am unsure if I should stock:

1 male + 1 female
2 male + 1 female
1 male + 2 female
2 male + 2 female 

If anyone has experience with bluegills and getting them to spawn that would be greatly appreciated. 

Thanks!

#2 centrarchid

centrarchid
  • NANFA Guest

Posted 15 November 2022 - 01:56 PM

I have lots of experience tank spawning bluegill of representing several subspecies as we as several others currently listed within the genus Lepomis.

To start, how big are fish selected for use as breeders?

Where / how do you plan to rear larval / fry stages?

Find ways for people not already interested in natives to value them.

#3 centrarchid

centrarchid
  • NANFA Guest

Posted 16 November 2022 - 02:58 PM

Tell me more about your setup. I have bred them as pairs in 40-gallon breeder aquariums, two males and a female in 75-gallon aquariums and as colonies in tanks ranging 200 to 2,000 gallons. More than tanks and sex ratios are of concern, especially when tighter confines are used.

#4 centrarchid

centrarchid
  • NANFA Guest

Posted 18 November 2022 - 10:08 AM

So Mr. Corn,

Are you picky about who you get your information from?

#5 cornandcrawlers

cornandcrawlers
  • NANFA Member
  • northeast iowa

Posted 25 November 2022 - 05:33 PM

I have not stocked any breeders yet, just getting tank cycled at the moment. My plan was to just fish out a female and a male of approximately similar size, maybe 5-8inches, and drop em in the tank and then feed heavily with live foods and do frequent water changes.