New Virginia Member

10 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_threegoldfish_*

Guest_threegoldfish_*
  • Guests

Posted 02 August 2007 - 03:47 PM

Finally decided to quit lurking and register. Hi from the Alexandria area! I'm new to native fish but loving everything I'm learning. I'm lucky enough to live very close to a well-populated stream and wetland reserve to go fishwatching at and I'm constantly trying to figure out what I'm seeing. There may have been a couple of trying to catch fish with my hat incidents while trying to get a closer look. I don't recommend this method. ;) Look forward to hanging out here.

#2 Guest_fundulus_*

Guest_fundulus_*
  • Guests

Posted 02 August 2007 - 03:56 PM

And we're glad you've joined us. I know that there are other DC area people who'd be happy to show you more efficient ways to catch fish.

#3 Guest_threegoldfish_*

Guest_threegoldfish_*
  • Guests

Posted 02 August 2007 - 04:04 PM

Ha! Thanks, I look forward to the help. :)

It was a mesh hat. I thought it couldn't be any more inefficient than your basic tank net. Would you believe it: Fish move really fast when motivated!

Actually, in all seriousness, someone recently dumped a large oscar into the stream I mentioned. I don't believe that it's on the wetlands property because I called the park office in charge of it and never got a reply. It was, last time I was through there before a large, long thunderstorm last weekend, in a fairly deep spot held back by a number of large rocks that a fish of his size probably wouldn't cross without motivation. No idea how to catch it. Or what to do with it beside killing it if I did. So suggestions on that end are welcome.

#4 Guest_drewish_*

Guest_drewish_*
  • Guests

Posted 02 August 2007 - 04:04 PM

Yay! another Virginian. Welcome to the forum. I hope to get a local trip together sometime soon so keep your eyes open for any announcements.

#5 Guest_Irate Mormon_*

Guest_Irate Mormon_*
  • Guests

Posted 02 August 2007 - 04:21 PM