Native classroom tank — ideas, feedback, and stocking

5 replies to this topic

#1 CNeyland

CNeyland
  • NANFA Guest
  • New Orleans, LA

Posted 19 June 2024 - 03:05 AM

Hey all -

I'm a new environmental science teacher in New Orleans, LA. I'm exploring the idea of starting a small small classroom biotope aquarium based on a cypress swamp. I've done some research, but I'm new to native fish/aquariums, so I'd love some feedback. I'd also love some help tracking down the fish I've picked out.

So, this year I plan to start with just a 10 gallon tank. I'm playing with the idea of turning this into an all-native aquaponic system later in the year, and will almost certainly upgrade the tank to 29 gallons within a year or two.

I'll probably go with a black, plantable substrate, add some cypress knees, probably a cave, a sponge filter, and plant some native aquatic plants. I'm looking at getting the following fish for the initial tank:
- Leptolucania ommata (Pygmy killifish) colony of 6-9+?
- Heterandria formosa (least livebearer/killifish) colony of 6-9+?
- Noturus gyrinus (tadpole madtom) just 1 if possible
- Cambarellus shufeldtii (Cajun dwarf crayfish) 5-10?

Questions:
- Are these critters likely to be okay together? They're all listed together on Jonah's Aquarium's compatibility chart, but I'd love your thoughts.
- Is 10 gallons (10.5" wide x 20.5" long x 12" high) too small for a tadpole madtom? I had a 6" kulhi loach in a 29 gallon tank once and it was definitely too small, but he was very active.
- If these fish do all work together, what numbers am I looking at for the two types of killifish if I want a near-full tank?
- How heavily planted should this tank be for fishy happiness and/or biotope accuracy? Esp keeping in mind that large water changes won't be a great option at school.