Photo

Native fish for Georgia classroom tank

3 replies to this topic

#1 SW Georgia Teacher

SW Georgia Teacher
  • NANFA Guest
  • Georgia

Posted 25 August 2024 - 01:33 PM

I'm an environmental science teacher in SW Georgia and looking to put together a heavily planted, mixed-occupant classroom tank that is as natural as possible.  The goal of the tank woyld be to help facilitate as many class topics as possible - nutrient cycling, food chains, native species, etc. I'm planning to get a 75g tank, which I may or may not split in half (see below).

I'd like one of the feature species of the tank to be a siren, either a single Lesser Siren or a small group of Dwarf Sirens. Besides this, I would like lots of plants, compatible inverts, and a few small native fish (no need for a lot). 

I'm trying to figure out which local fish species would work best in such a tank, and which would fit well with the sirens and not harass them. If the fish need more water movement than the sirens, I'm considering placing a glass divider in the middle of the tank and having a filter for water movement on the fish side, with the siren's side getting less movement, creating a move circulated environment on one side and a more swamp-like environment on the other.  If I decide that the siren and fish just aren't compatible, I may drop the water level below the divider so that both sides are completely separate. 

Does anyone have any advice on this idea or suggestions as to which fish would be compatible?

#2 Michael Wolfe

Michael Wolfe
  • Board of Directors
  • North Georgia, Oconee River Drainage

Posted 28 August 2024 - 08:57 PM

Hello fellow Georgian!  I am up in the Athens area, so not "near you" as we are a big state.  And I dont know much about sirens.  But I am your State Regional Representative and I have worked with Environmental Education and would love to help you with your 75 gallon tank. I love heavily planted natural bottom tanks.