New To Natives And Need A Lot Of Help

27 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_ogtgnome_*

Guest_ogtgnome_*
  • Guests

Posted 25 August 2007 - 05:03 PM

My son and I were out fishing the other day, with no luck, we were pulling in our lines and on one of them we found a small catfish... the pond was closing and it had swallowed the hook too deep for me to pull it out and release the fish with any certainty of it surviving, so we took it home. By the time we got home the fish had regurgitated the hook. I pulled out an old aquarium, filled it with water from our pond and we are now trying our hand at keeping it alive.
My problem is I have no experience in this!!!!!!!!!!! I have ( I think) identified the fish as a yellow bullhead. round tail fin, white barbels under the chin framed by darker ones, the only thing throwing me for a loop is one of the barbels forks.
I am keeping him in a 20 gal tank, have a whisper filter on it, a gravel substrate, and some of the vegitation that came in with the line in the tank. What else do I need, what should I be feeding it, how often....
Please help. After reading several of the threads here and attempting find care and feeding instructions I think I am getting hooked on the idea of keeping a native habitat in my living room.

Thanks in advance

#2 Guest_Irate Mormon_*

Guest_Irate Mormon_*
  • Guests

Posted 25 August 2007 - 05:11 PM

He will need some sort of shelter to hide in/under ( a piece of PVC will do in a pinch, but large, flat rocks work better and look nicer ). Your bullhead will eat sinking pellets at least once a day. At first he may only feed at night.

Keep an eye on ammonia and other fish metabolism by-products- with a large fish in a small, newly set up tank, things can go south fast. He really needs a larger tank, but it will do for now.

Anyway, that's the capsule summary. Other who are more vebose than I can fill you in.