Bullhead Questions

10 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_BullHeadsrdfish_*

Guest_BullHeadsrdfish_*
  • Guests

Posted 28 August 2007 - 01:32 PM

I have some Yellow Bullheads and I had a few questions about them. One of Mine is about 11'' and he is a little over 2 years old, is this a normal growth pattern? I have him in a 100gal tank and feed him chicken liver and beef heart. Does this sound like a good setup? Also I have some fish I think are Brown Bullheads but I am not sure if i uploaded some pics could yall ID them for me? Thanks in advance.

#2 Guest_FrostBite_*

Guest_FrostBite_*
  • Guests

Posted 28 August 2007 - 02:16 PM

Did you try checking the barbels under the chin for the 4 little barbels? If they are like yellow or white it is a yellow bullhead if not it is probably a black or brown but you probably already knew that. I'm pretty new to this btw. try checking this link http://www.planetcat...search=bullhead it should help

#3 Guest_drewish_*

Guest_drewish_*
  • Guests

Posted 28 August 2007 - 03:06 PM

That seems normal especially with what you are feeding it. You may want to get it on a pellet staple diet which will have most of the needed nutrients. This will be a much healthier diet.

And yes, take pictures and upload them. Someone will be able to verify.

#4 Guest_bullhead_*

Guest_bullhead_*
  • Guests

Posted 28 August 2007 - 05:13 PM

11 inches in 2 years sounds like good growth to me. Chicken liver and beef heart, however, are probably not the best food. I would stick to other fish and inverts as food. Prepared foods (pellets) and frozen are good too.

There used to be some controversy about the long term health effects of feeding beef heart to fish. I searched the Web and could only find one sentence in Wikipedia (http://en.wikipedia....iki/Discus_fish) about it.

#5 Guest_BullHeadsrdfish_*

Guest_BullHeadsrdfish_*
  • Guests

Posted 29 August 2007 - 08:17 PM