New to forum

11 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_NativeTexan_*

Guest_NativeTexan_*
  • Guests

Posted 01 December 2007 - 10:36 PM

Hello all. I have enjoyed reading posts in this forum and thought I should introduce myself. I am just getting started with native fish keeping. I have a 40 gallon aquarium with 2 wild captured bluegill, each about 1 inch long. They get along well so far but I expect there is no way I can keep both of these in such a small tank for very long. I have had them for a couple of months.

The tank was given to me as-is with no equipment - no light or hood even. I purchased a Marineland Emporer 400 and it seems to be working well. I do not have an air pump but understand that the biowheels should keep oxygen levels up on its own. (Is that right?)

I feed these little bluegills freeze dried bloodworms and frozen brine shrimp (thawed first, naturally). They seem to always be hungry.

I look forward to learning more about this hobby through the forum. And I am excited to learn that the NANFA conference will be in Texas in 2008. I need to pay the dues and get signed up.

#2 Guest_fishlvr_*

Guest_fishlvr_*
  • Guests

Posted 01 December 2007 - 10:50 PM

Welcome to the forum! Your tank will be fine for at least 6 months to a year, mainly depending on the temperature and how well fed they are and the food your feeding them. They can grow up to an inch a month if kept in the right conditions. What are the demensions? You'll more than likely be able to house them in there until they're about 6-7" long, or maybe larger, provided your tank has the right demensions. You'll eventually need a 75 for both fish. The diet you have them on is good, and will get them growing fast. You may want to try frozen bloodworms instead of freeze-dried, as they hold more nutrients(or so I've heard). I would probably add an air-pump, just to make sure they're getting enough O2.

#3 Guest_NativeTexan_*

Guest_NativeTexan_*
  • Guests

Posted 01 December 2007 - 11:00 PM