Southern Illinois

13 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_tadpoleboy_*

Guest_tadpoleboy_*
  • Guests

Posted 12 December 2007 - 04:36 PM

anyone located in southern illinois around jackson county? Or carbondale or paducah ? I have a two man seine, dip nets, cast nets, looking for some good locations

#2 Guest_4WheelVFR_*

Guest_4WheelVFR_*
  • Guests

Posted 16 December 2007 - 09:10 PM

anyone located in southern illinois around jackson county? Or carbondale or paducah ? I have a two man seine, dip nets, cast nets, looking for some good locations

I'm from Herrin, just down the road. I can't disclose all my spots, but I can show you a couple good ones. This Spring we'll have to go out and do some collecting. I'm not fond of water this time of year.

#3 Guest_fishyguy_*

Guest_fishyguy_*
  • Guests

Posted 20 December 2007 - 02:52 AM

I am in southern Illinois creal springs to be exact. I am new to natives so I dont have any collecting spots but would love to do some collecting when it warms up. good to see others near me.

#4 Guest_tadpoleboy_*

Guest_tadpoleboy_*
  • Guests

Posted 26 January 2008 - 09:39 PM

4WheelVFR what kind of stuff have you caught down here? what methods do you have the most success with? I've been trying to check out local streams and creeks, and ive found some places on google earth that appear to be ideal, but i wont know until i get there. I just went out today at a spot just east of carbondale by a vet clinic underneath route 13. I had no real luck, only catching some shrimp and mussels and one very small fish that i let go. There was too many logs underneath for any throw netting so i just used a scoop net and waders. Have you had any luck collecting in winter?

#5 Guest_Brooklamprey_*

Guest_Brooklamprey_*
  • Guests

Posted 26 January 2008 - 10:15 PM

Do you see any Spotted gars down there?

#6 Guest_tadpoleboy_*

Guest_tadpoleboy_*
  • Guests

Posted 28 January 2008 - 06:56 PM