Rainbow darter questions

• Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_fishlvr_*

Guest_fishlvr_*
  • Guests

Posted 15 December 2007 - 12:14 PM

I'm getting 2 pairs of rainbow darters soon, and I have a few questions on their care. These will be my first darters, so I want to know how to take care of them.

1) Will they eat frozen tubifex?

2) What is a good temp. for them?

3) Will they get along with small shiners, a bluefin killie and a couple small(1") sunfish?

I'm not a big darter person, but I'm getting a growing interest in them, so if these are "stupid" questions, please forgive me. :D

#2 Guest_fundulus_*

Guest_fundulus_*
  • Guests

Posted 15 December 2007 - 01:57 PM

Probably, room temperature, and yes. Rainbows are good aquarium fish, as long as the water isn't too hot or stagnant.

#3 Guest_mikez_*

Guest_mikez_*
  • Guests

Posted 15 December 2007 - 03:26 PM

I'm no expert, I've only had my rainbows for a few weeks, but I am very impressed with them as aquarium residents.
They eat all the frozen stuff I offer including blood worms, brine shrimp, and mysids.
They compete very well for food in a busy community full of hungry minnows and some large tesselated darters. The key is to deliver plenty of food to the bottom level of the tank. They don't seem as willing to swim up as some darters but as long as the food is near the bottom, they charge right into the mix and grab their share.
At first I thought my biggest tesselated darter was going to harrass them too much but some how he decided to accept them. Now he doesn't mind that they share his prime spot in the highest flow of current. He won't let any of the other tesselateds even close.
Mine have colored up somewhat but are not near breeding colors. Still, to me who only has tesselateds locally, their off color is still beter than the best breeding color of the locals.
A great captive!

#4 Guest_tglassburner_*

Guest_tglassburner_*
  • Guests

Posted 15 December 2007 - 03:44 PM