good book on aquarium plants?

• Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_viridari_*

Guest_viridari_*
  • Guests

Posted 31 December 2007 - 11:34 AM

I've been keeping fish for close to 30 years now but I've never really tried to create a good environment for aquatic plants. It's high time I learned!

Is there an authoritative book on the subject that covers all the modern best practices pretty well?

I'd also like to be able to identify native plants I find in the local rivers and streams of North Carolina, but understand that might be yet another book (if it even exists).

#2 Guest_nativeplanter_*

Guest_nativeplanter_*
  • Guests

Posted 31 December 2007 - 01:31 PM

On the plant ID side:

First, there is a nice book with color photos called "Aquatic and Wetland Plants of South Carolina" by Aulback-Smith and de Kozlowski. Very good book for the beginner, but doesn't have a lot of species. http://store.gcsaa.o...o...D&ProdID=15

Another good book for beginners is "Common Marsh, Underwater, and Floating-Leaved Plants of the United States and Canade" by Hotchkiss. Easy-to-use key, with line drawings. http://www.amazon.co...l...5698&sr=8-1

My favorite "go-to" book for identification is Godfrey and Wooton's "Aquatic and Wetland Plants of the Southeastern United States". It's a two-volume set, one for monocots and one for dicots. It's rather academic, using dichotomous keys and line drawings. It's also a little pricey, but as I said, I find it to be the best book for ID. Not really for the beginner.

Crow and Hellquist have done an updated edition of Fassett, and have added line drawings (the book was previouly just text). It's called "Aquatic and Wetland Plants of Northeastern North America" and is also a two-volume set. Unfortunately, it does not have habitat descriptions like Godfrey and Wooten. But an excellent key nonthelses. Not really for the beginner.