My Time with the MBI

97 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_NateTessler13_*

Guest_NateTessler13_*
  • Guests

Posted 14 January 2008 - 04:55 PM

Hello everybody,
I am an undergraduate student at Bowling Green State University in northwestern Ohio. I recently took a semester off of school to pursue a temporary position offered at the Midwest Biodiversity Institute. My professor at the university had informed me of the position and talked up the institute's founders. The institute was founded by people at the Ohio Environmental Protection Agency that were involved in advancing the way that fish are sampled and streams are analyzed. With that, I didn't see how I could pass up a chance at applying for a position with their institution. I applied, and so did Brian Zimmerman (smbass) without my prior knowledge, and we both got offered jobs. He was able to start in early summer, and I was tied up with a prior engagement to work for the Ohio Environmental Protection Agency for the summer...so, I started in the fall. There's the story to how it began.
At the Midwest Biodiversity Institute (MBI), I was signed on as a field technician/research assistant. There are many projects that the institute is involved in. I worked with two different sampling crews, one was sampling the DuPage River and DesPlaines River drainages in northeastern Illinois, and the other (the crew that Brian was on) was different sized streams in southern Wisconsin, northwestern Indiana, and throughout Illinois. The purpose of the 1st crew’s work was to set up a basic surveying program for a local watershed group. MBI was conducting the first round of sampling and then handing over the data and sites to the local group for them to pick up where MBI left off and continue the surveys once a year or every other year as their monitoring program dictates.