Bi-pod ID?

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_joia2181_*

Guest_joia2181_*
  • Guests

Posted 14 January 2008 - 06:41 PM

I noticed this shell while trying to corner a small school of yellow perch in narrow concrete canal. It's fed by a lake and has water year round. Sure enough when I started digging in the areas where the bottom is all busted up I found more. It took forever to get a decent picture at dusk but I did leave it there. I have no idea about bi-pod species so any ideas welcome.
Attached File  Shellid.jpeg.JPG   244.75KB   1 downloads

#2 Guest_Newt_*

Guest_Newt_*
  • Guests

Posted 14 January 2008 - 07:10 PM

Looks to me like a floater (Anodonta grandis, if I remember correctly), but I'm no expert. Was the shell very thin?

#3 Guest_ashtonmj_*

Guest_ashtonmj_*
  • Guests

Posted 14 January 2008 - 07:52 PM

Pyganodon grandis aren't on that side of the mountains, but Pyganodon cataracta is found on the Atlantic slope. That being said I would tentatively call it Pyganodon cataracta. Was the area tidally influenced? The nacre color is a little too pink for my liking. However, the umbo looks about even to above the hinge line. Without seeing the beak sculpture and feeling the shell I'm personally hesitant for a definative answer. I really need to dive into a box or two of shells and see someof the variability and diversity of Atlantic slope fauna. I was limited to a few species last year and written descriptions.

#4 Guest_joia2181_*

Guest_joia2181_*
  • Guests

Posted 14 January 2008 - 08:34 PM

The shell was very thin and no tidal influneces. This location is a freshwater drainage/stream between two resiviors. What is the beak sculpture and what are you looking for in the texture of the shell/charaistics? You guys are great thanks!

#5 Guest_ashtonmj_*

Guest_ashtonmj_*
  • Guests

Posted 14 January 2008 - 09:03 PM