anyone breeding swampfish?

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_butch_*

Guest_butch_*
  • Guests

Posted 30 January 2008 - 01:42 PM

Are there someone who have some sucessful breeding the swampfish? Just wondering. What is swampfish's requirements and diet? Can they kept in tubs?

#2 Guest_bullhead_*

Guest_bullhead_*
  • Guests

Posted 30 January 2008 - 06:15 PM

I seem to remember Teleost having a pretty detailed thread on swampfish. Did you try the search function?

#3 Guest_centrarchid_*

Guest_centrarchid_*
  • Guests

Posted 30 January 2008 - 06:29 PM

I am very interested in tackling this species myself. Thinking of setting up zooplankton culture specifically for the job of providing quality live eats.

#4 Guest_fritz_*

Guest_fritz_*
  • Guests

Posted 30 January 2008 - 06:42 PM

I am very interested in tackling this species myself. Thinking of setting up zooplankton culture specifically for the job of providing quality live eats.

I studied some of their biology years ago. The dominant food item eaten was amphipods. They have a big mouth and don't feed unless something bumps into them. I think Dustin has had some success keeping them alive. No one has bred them and I hope that someone will one day as they did with the pirate perch.

#5 Guest_Newt_*

Guest_Newt_*
  • Guests

Posted 30 January 2008 - 08:27 PM

I studied some of their biology years ago. The dominant food item eaten was amphipods. They have a big mouth and don't feed unless something bumps into them. I think Dustin has had some success keeping them alive. No one has bred them and I hope that someone will one day as they did with the pirate perch.

Sounds like Sirens. I've got a couple; they are totally oblivious to anything until their snout is right on it, though nice and smelly food at least gets them to start cruising around. And no one's ever even seen those things mate!

#6 Guest_teleost_*

Guest_teleost_*
  • Guests

Posted 30 January 2008 - 09:13 PM