Black Soldier Fly larvae, aka Phoenix worms

• Please log in to reply
65 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_fish for brains_*

Guest_fish for brains_*
  • Guests

Posted 28 February 2008 - 09:44 PM

I was just wondering if anyone was raising these amazing insects for fish food or for waste processing. I studied them quite a bit and successfully (easily) raised them. They are highly nutritious and fish love them.

I have a long and involved thread at a pond owner's forum, and if it isn't against the rules I would link to it as reference. The thread is many pages long with detailed descriptions and photos. I would never have the time to go into the same detail a second time, but I would be happy to pick up where I left off at the other thread.

PS. On a side note I would think that many others at the pond owner's forum would also enjoy posting here and visa versa. The membership includes fisheries biologists, pond building contractors, aquaculturists, and other seriously hardcore fish lovers. The two sites are different but very complimentary.

#2 Guest_tglassburner_*

Guest_tglassburner_*
  • Guests

Posted 28 February 2008 - 10:23 PM

I don't think it's against any rules to post a link.

Please either post it here or pm me the link thanks.

I was just wondering if anyone was raising these amazing insects for fish food or for waste processing. I studied them quite a bit and successfully (easily) raised them. They are highly nutritious and fish love them.

I have a long and involved thread at a pond owner's forum, and if it isn't against the rules I would link to it as reference. The thread is many pages long with detailed descriptions and photos. I would never have the time to go into the same detail a second time, but I would be happy to pick up where I left off at the other thread.