Huron River Zebra Mussel Project

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_Histrix_*

Guest_Histrix_*
  • Guests

Posted 02 April 2008 - 05:28 PM

Hi everyone,

As many of you may already know, I am a graduate student at the University of Michigan, and I will be doing research for my master's thesis this summer on the Huron River. I am primarily interested in how the invasive zebra mussels that are now inhabiting this watershed are affecting fish communities. I will be gathering data throughout the season, but the majority of the field work will take place in mid-May, mid-June, and early August.

Anyhow, I would like to take this opportunity to invite any interested NANFA members to participate. We will be electrofishing, seining, and all that fun stuff. In addition, you'll probably get to meet and interact with faculty from the U-M School of Natural Resources and the Fish Division at the Museum of Zoology (once the illustrious Carl Hubbs' stomping grounds). Feel free to drop me an e-mail at kbirkett at umich dot edu if you're interested. Hope to meet you soon!

Katie

#2 Guest_farmertodd_*

Guest_farmertodd_*
  • Guests

Posted 02 April 2008 - 09:53 PM

I'm in Kate. We can film your sites too :) I was watching for this effect after you had noted it last year and just never wrote about it. The zeebs definately shift fish community away from where they're at, although I think the effects are indirect. I have some film from Island SP that is very curious. There are curious distribution patterns of zeebs above Portage Lake as well.

Are you working with Dave?

Also, I've been trading emails with George Hammond at the UMMZ, I think I'll be getting more involved that direction. I had already kinda found a niche with the native plant folks :)

Todd

#3 Guest_Brooklamprey_*

Guest_Brooklamprey_*
  • Guests

Posted 02 April 2008 - 11:13 PM

I'll be there as I can Katie... You have my contact info....

#4 Guest_Histrix_*

Guest_Histrix_*
  • Guests