Multiple tank sump

• Please log in to reply
34 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_scottefontay_*

Guest_scottefontay_*
  • Guests

Posted 07 April 2008 - 09:41 AM

anyone have multiple tank sump systems currently or in the past? I am looking to plumb a bunch of 10 and 15 gals together (not in series) to ease water changes and keep water parameters consistent between my rearing tanks, so moving things around isn't as much of a potential issue. Any dos or don'ts, your crazy, or any expereinces? What type of overflows can I make simply? I will still have sponge filters in all the tanks, just want to circulate water from a central location as well.

#2 Guest_jase_*

Guest_jase_*
  • Guests

Posted 07 April 2008 - 10:10 AM

I'm about to set up my multiple-tank sump system this weekend -- I'll take photos as I do it and post them. I haven't done it before, but I've been researching how to do it for about 2 years now, in hopes that I'd finally have a situation that would make it feasible.

#3 Guest_scottefontay_*

Guest_scottefontay_*
  • Guests

Posted 07 April 2008 - 10:58 AM

I'm about to set up my multiple-tank sump system this weekend -- I'll take photos as I do it and post them. I haven't done it before, but I've been researching how to do it for about 2 years now, in hopes that I'd finally have a situation that would make it feasible.

I could see 10-15 tanks on one 50 gallon sump. Just to dilute the poo, not filter anything and facilitate water changes. the sponges I have been using with my central air pump hace proven more than adequate. Let me know how it goes, and good luck!

#4 Guest_jase_*

Guest_jase_*
  • Guests

Posted 07 April 2008 - 11:06 AM

I could see 10-15 tanks on one 50 gallon sump. Just to dilute the poo, not filter anything and facilitate water changes. the sponges I have been using with my central air pump hace proven more than adequate. Let me know how it goes, and good luck!