Fish collection at Cincinnati Museum Center

11 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_herm_*

Guest_herm_*
  • Guests

Posted 11 May 2008 - 10:15 PM

I've seen a few posts on this site regarding how to legally collect native fishes. For those dedicated amateurs wishing to take part in the science attaching one's activities to a university researcher or museum professional is a good idea. It makes it easier to get the needed permits and specimens can be vouchered in a museum collection and made available for research. Which brings me to my point...

I'm the new (well relatively new, started June 2007) curator of zoology at the Cincinnati Museum of Natural History (part of the Cincinnati Museum Center). I'm an ornithologist by trade but have a history in ichthyology. I've kept aquarium fishes for many years and during my most of my undergraduate years at the University of Kentucky I was more into fish than birds and did a fair bit of collecting in KY and during a couple trips to the Gulf Coast. All my research has involved molecular genetics at some level and currently I'm interested in various questions regarding molecular systematics and population genetics. I could see myself getting involved in some fish research projects alongside my bird work.

I'm trying to build up the museum's collections in zoology focusing on primarily on birds, herps, fishes and freshwater mussels. Our collections and research divisions are good but a major flaw is very short staffing. That means we rely heavily on volunteer help. We have long-time volunteer curators in herpetology and malacology and I'm an ornithologist so the birds, herps and mussels are doing OK but we could use help in the ichthyology department. The museum has scientific collecting permits statewide for Ohio and Kentucky and we can list sub-permittees on these permits.