Puerto Rico - Collection Tips?

8 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_Ouassous_*

Guest_Ouassous_*
  • Guests

Posted 15 November 2006 - 09:51 AM

Hello.

I'm presently a high school student in Alexandria, Virginia, and I will probably be collecting in Puerto Rico for research purposes sometime between 11/23 and 11/26. Though I'm well aware that Puerto Rico does not fall within the Nearctic biogeographical realm, many of the species in question also occur along the Gulf Coast of the U.S.

My target species are restricted to amphidromous freshwater shrimp, namely large prawns of the genus Macrobrachium (M. carcinus, M. heterochirus, M. acanthurus, M. crenulatum, and M. faustinum); I may also obtain some filter-feeders (Atya spp., Potimirim spp., Micratya poeyi, and Jonga serrei) and X. elongata. Since permit issues have been resolved, does anyone have any pointers in terms of dip net/minnow trap/hand-collection tactics?

More importantly, how would you suggest I ship my specimens from San Juan to the mainland US? I'm presently leaning towards USPS. Keep in mind that these shrimp will have numerous sharp appendages, must be submerged in warm water at all times, and could be quite large (up to 20 cm or so). If any of you have colleagues who've undertaken comparable tasks, feel free to let them know of my predicament.

Thanks.
Alex Kim

#2 Guest_Ouassous_*

Guest_Ouassous_*
  • Guests

Posted 15 November 2006 - 10:00 AM

Images from a reconnaissance trip I took two summers ago:

Cardisoma guanhumi

Posted Image

Two terrestrial snails (species undetermined) discovered on an underslung stretch of moss several meters from the foot of Coco Falls, El Yunque:

Posted Image

Atya lanipes:

Posted Image

Xiphocaris elongata:

Posted Image

Posted Image

Undetermined Macrobrachium 1:

Posted Image

Undetermined Macrobrachium 2:

Posted Image

M. acanthurus:

Posted Image

Posted Image

Posted Image

#3 Guest_drewish_*

Guest_drewish_*
  • Guests

Posted 15 November 2006 - 11:28 AM