Cyprinella leedsi photos?

6 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_Runan_*

Guest_Runan_*
  • Guests

Posted 22 October 2008 - 06:27 PM

I've had fish for a while, but I'm pretty new to keeping natives. I'm totally hooked on them now, though, especially shiners and darters. At the moment I've got 5 rainbow shiners and a male rainbow darter in my 20 gallon along with a few corys and other fish.

A while ago I saw a picture of the Bannerfin shiner, Cyprinella leedsi, and I thought it was a gorgeous fish. However, I've only ever seen that one picture (plus the illustration in the Peterson's field guide). Here's the pic in question:

http://www.mblaquacu...hiner_510px.jpg

Are there any other pictures floating around? I'd love to see more.

Also, a question about rainbow shiners: Is the blue iridescence only a breeding color, or do they always have it? If they always have it, when does it start to appear? I got my rainbow shiners as juvies and the biggest was only an inch long. Now the biggest is a little over 2 inches and 2 others are about 2 inches exactly, and the smallest 2 are slightly over an inch, so at least some of them are still growing. They're very beautifully colored, especially the bigger three, with a reddish-purple top surface and a bright copper-orange horizontal stripe down their sides, a dark stripe below that and a silvery belly. The big ones have a red tinge to their fins as well. They also have a sort of copper/gold "glow" that hard to describe. Will the blue iridescence only show up if they're in breeding mode?

#2 Guest_ashtonmj_*

Guest_ashtonmj_*
  • Guests

Posted 22 October 2008 - 06:48 PM

Yes, the irridescence and better color in general you are hoping to see is a breeding color in those shiners (rainbow, tennessee, saffron, etc.). If you search the NANFA photo gallery there are some great pictures of rainbow shiners Todd Crail took while they were in breeding mode.

#3 Guest_fundulus_*

Guest_fundulus_*
  • Guests