Shiners/Dace and Flake Food

12 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_crb1701_*

Guest_crb1701_*
  • Guests

Posted 15 January 2009 - 11:39 PM

Hi All,

I have rainbow shiners and mountain redbelly dace. I assume these fish would be closer in nature to cold-water goldfish rather than warm-water tropical fish, so should I be feeding them flake formulations for goldfish rather than tropicals?

Any recommendations as to brandnames and special ingredients such as spirulina, garlic, etc?

Thanks,

Curt

#2 Guest_scott361_*

Guest_scott361_*
  • Guests

Posted 16 January 2009 - 01:44 AM

I'm new to keeping these types of natives myself.
I've always had to feed live food such as daphnia, tubificid worms etc!
My Black-banded, Blue-spotted Sunfish and Darters wouldn't touch anything else.
My new guys include some of your selection and they absolutely love what I'm now using.
I will add more live foods, as soon as the season's population starts to grow.
I'm sure that the copepods will really make a difference.

But...
What I ended up with was Omega One Natural Protein Formula.
They go totally nuts at feeding times.
Not being an expert on dry foods, I thought that the ingredients sounded really pretty good.
It's made in Alaska and uses many products that sounded very good for 'em.
Whole salmon, Halibut, Black Cod Whole Herring, Whole Shrimp, Krill and Kelp!
Not to mention many other things.

If there's another better option, I'd like to know as well!
I'm not very concerned about price. My animals always get the best that I can buy.;~)
I do know that, although they're still young, they're really begining to color up nicely.
The last time I had anything like this, I used to make my own.
But this is far easier and even sounds better! ;~)

Scott

#3 Guest_crb1701_*

Guest_crb1701_*
  • Guests

Posted 16 January 2009 - 07:20 PM