New Ecosystem Based Approach

• Please log in to reply
23 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_sedghammer_*

Guest_sedghammer_*
  • Guests

Posted 20 January 2009 - 01:26 PM

I am a fisheries student and an avid aquarist living just outside of Chicago and I thought I'd share my aquarium method with you guys as you seem more open to something out of the ordinary.

My method takes the Walstad Method to the extreme. It's premise is to introduce as many local species of zooplankton as possible to maximize resource exchange and availability. I introduce daphnia, copepods, decopods, aquatic worms (oligochaetes), non parasitic leeches, snails, hydra, bryozoans and a myriad of other organisms into my tanks in an attempt to maximize biodiversity. The tanks have no filtration, instead relying on plants, algea, and bacteria for nutrient removal (ammonia, nitrates). This ecosystem is powered only by light, the soil and bi-monthly additions of leaf litter. This makes for extremely interesting tanks that present the aquarist with never ending movement and change.

The fish selection is limited however, as the fish must be seen as just another link in the chain and must therefore be stocked at very low levels, depending on thier life histories. The fish best suited for a tank like this are usually under an inch at maturity (microrasboras, danionella sp.) and feed primarily on plankton.

I am still in the experimental stage with this kind of tank and have 3 set up like this at the moment. They are all only 10 gallon tanks, so I'm even more limited on the number of fish I can sustain in such a setup and am unsure as to what the carrying capacity is for such a small tank size. But the focus here isn't on the fish; it's the entire mini-ecosystem that is the draw. I have an empty 55 gallon that I'm going to setup over the summer with this method as well and would like some suggestions as to what people think it could sustain (viable breeding population).