hello

• This topic is locked This topic is locked
17 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_fishes2catch_*

Guest_fishes2catch_*
  • Guests

Posted 06 December 2006 - 03:14 PM

Hello,

I would like to introduce myself to everyone. My name is Mark and I'm a self proclaimed fish geek. I work as an aquarist for a research lab at the University of Oregon keeping mainly threespine stickleback from Alaska and Oregon. Much of the work that we do is determining the genetic basis of bone evolution in many of the derived populations. I have recently built a fish room and am now breeding fish into the room from an existing room.

I'm also interested in non native fishes, mainly cichlids and livebearers, which I keep and breed in a fish room at home.

I'm also interested in working with pipefish as they are considered to be very closley related to stickleback. Can anyone help me in finding gulf pipefish, syngnathus scovelii? I'm new to NANFA and do not know if this is an appropriate place to ask such questions or if there is a trading post.

I look forward to many discussions about our native fishes,

Mark

post_181_1165436053.jpg

#2 Guest_teleost_*

Guest_teleost_*
  • Guests

Posted 06 December 2006 - 03:38 PM

Welcome aboard fishes2catch.

Can anyone help me in finding gulf pipefish, syngnathus scovelii? I'm new to NANFA and do not know if this is an appropriate place to ask such questions or if there is a trading post.

You can start a new thread in the "trading dock" below. You might get more attention there.

Quite a mess of sticklebacks you have there. what on earth do you do with that many?

#3 Guest_Skipjack_*

Guest_Skipjack_*
  • Guests

Posted 06 December 2006 - 03:41 PM

You can start a new thread in the "trading dock" below. You might get more attention there.

Quite a mess of sticklebacks you have there. what on earth do you do with that many?

Maybe he tosses guppies in there and watches them get shredded. :)

WELCOME ABOARD!

#4 Guest_NateTessler13_*