new from NH with lots of questions

4 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_FirstChAoS_*

Guest_FirstChAoS_*
  • Guests

Posted 28 March 2009 - 01:59 AM

I am new to native fish keeping and wish to set up a native species tank. Due to this I have alot of questions. I am from south western New Hampshire (cheshire county, connecticut river drainage) and have always been fascinated by nature and wilflife, I have a BA in biology, and I enjoy fishing. I have alot of questions. Here they are. I hope you do not mind.

I am considering keeping native fish. I haven't tried keeping fish since i was a kid and had goldfish, tetras, catfish, and an angelfish (all of which were eaten by the goldfish) and i have a few questions.

1. Do you need a chiller on a tank for native fish? I know some species need chiller (trout and other salmonids) but what about walleye, smallmouth bass, shiners, dace, and suckers.

2. Should native fish receive any special medical treatment for disease or parasites they may have picked up in the wild? I hear some species (especially perch) are prone to parasites during warmer months.

3. How many feeder minnows should they eat a day?

4. how do the following species (these are the ones i am thinking of raising, but will raise any I catch) fair in captivity? do any have special dietary, water quality, or temperature concerns. (note these species will be sampled from new hampshire where i live). yellow perch, rock bass, pumpkinseed, smallmouth bass, brown bullhead, chain pickeral, white sucker, black crappie, fallfish. i will likely avoid those that require special treatment. Also would suckers require special food due to their mouths? I am not aiming for the usual minnows and darters (except the fallfish as they grow large come in both silver and purple) but will keep some if i catch them.