Leeches in with my Blackworms

• Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_eLeMeNt_*

Guest_eLeMeNt_*
  • Guests

Posted 21 December 2006 - 09:10 AM

Each time I have bought live blackworms for the past month I have found a leech inside the container with them. They are pretty small, but easy to pick out because they move to the lid of the container, while the blackworms stay mostly on the bottom.

Has anybody else seen this when buying blackworms for their fish?

Now I double check before feeding the fish to make sure there are no leeches tangled in with them. I'm curious as to whether a fish's stomach would be able to digest a leech, or whether the leech could survive inside them. They look like an ectoparasite to me (not sure if all leeches are, I’m no expert on leeches).

I would never feed any leeches to my fish, I'm just curious.

#2 Guest_dsmith73_*

Guest_dsmith73_*
  • Guests

Posted 21 December 2006 - 09:16 AM

I have had these every time that I have ever bought blackworms so it is not at all uncommon. I was concerned the first time I saw them as well so I contacted the supplier. They informed me that these were not leeches, but a species of flatworm, and they are harmless and make quite good fish food in their own right. After that, I never thought twice about them and have never had a problem with them.

#3 Guest_Brooklamprey_*

Guest_Brooklamprey_*
  • Guests

Posted 21 December 2006 - 09:42 AM

It is common to find leeches in with blackworms. The two I see the most are not parasitic on vertebrates and either detritivores or worm feeders. They do as Dustin said make good fish food.

#4 Guest_eLeMeNt_*

Guest_eLeMeNt_*
  • Guests

Posted 21 December 2006 - 11:20 PM

Interesting.....I immediately assumed they were leeches when I saw them. Now that I think about it they really do look like a type of flatworm. I also was unaware that there are non parasitic leeches.

I guess I'll end up throwing them in the tank for food after all.