Pickerel ID

• Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_bumpylemon_*

Guest_bumpylemon_*
  • Guests

Posted 05 August 2009 - 06:50 AM

Well I'm new to the pickerel world....im just not 100%...but i believe its a grass pickerel....thanks again gentleman..

if anyone wants to take a shot at the shiners in there as well...caught those for him to eat along with my eels.

Posted Image

Posted Image

Posted Image

#2 Guest_darter1_*

Guest_darter1_*
  • Guests

Posted 05 August 2009 - 07:42 AM

Hard to tell for sure. My guess is Chain Pickerel because the subocular bar is vertical as opposed to slanted backwards in Redfin and Grass Pickerel. Also the mouth looks fairly small, just to the eye instead of reaching the middle of the eye in Redfin and Grass Pickerel. Hard to tell for sure from just a pic.
The minnows have a Golden Shiner body shape... if so they will have a strongly decurved lateral line. Hope this helps!

#3 Guest_bumpylemon_*

Guest_bumpylemon_*
  • Guests

Posted 05 August 2009 - 07:45 AM

Hard to tell for sure. My guess is Chain Pickerel because the subocular bar is vertical as opposed to slanted backwards in Redfin and Grass Pickerel. Also the mouth looks fairly small, just to the eye instead of reaching the middle of the eye in Redfin and Grass Pickerel. Hard to tell for sure from just a pic.
The minnows have a Golden Shiner body shape... if so they will have a strongly decurved lateral line. Hope this helps!

i really hope its a grass pickerel for the sake of its in a 55 gallon lol. also i used this for ID
http://forum.nanfa.o...ss-pickerel-id/

and it looks kinda like the grass...

then i looked at this

Posted Image

and it looks nothing like it

#4 Guest_smbass_*

Guest_smbass_*
  • Guests

Posted 05 August 2009 - 07:46 AM

Well I'm new to the pickerel world....im just not 100%...but i believe its a grass pickerel....thanks again gentleman..