help identifying fish?

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_RobertHudson_*

Guest_RobertHudson_*
  • Guests

Posted 22 August 2009 - 08:52 PM

I collected seven of these fish today from a sleugh off the Willamette river in Salem, Oregon. They are about an inch long with very streamline shaped bodies, a black strip through the eyes, and the body is basically a dull gray with mottled/speckled markings if you look real real close. Under the aquarium light they almost seem to have a yellowish tinge to them, but i am not sure if it is just my lighting or not.

i've been observing these fish for two or three months before i decided to collect them. They congregate within two or three feet of the shoreline in shallow water and in some cases only inches deep. The adults appear to venture into slightly deeper water. A couple months ago there seemed to be hundreds of them up and down the shore, but now the population has depleted to isolated pockets. I guess they are somebodies dinner.

The water bottom is covered in small pebbles and tons of loose sedimant that clouds the water with any movement, and there is heavy vegitation as well; Egeria and Myriophyllum and some type of plant that grows dense foliage above the water.

i have them in a 20 gallon long aquarium and they are staying near the surface in the rear, so it is very hard to get a photo, and my camera doesn't have much of a zoom.
Here is the best shot I could get:

Posted Image

I also saw moving around on the bottom along with these guys what look liked a pleco that i presume was some sort of sculpin. By the time i got my net out I couldn't find him any more!

so does anyone know what kind of fish this might be?

#2 Guest_UncleWillie_*

Guest_UncleWillie_*
  • Guests

Posted 22 August 2009 - 09:10 PM

Gambusia affinis

#3 Guest_fundulus_*

Guest_fundulus_*
  • Guests

Posted 22 August 2009 - 10:31 PM