When is it too cold to collect?

16 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_NYnativekeeper716_*

Guest_NYnativekeeper716_*
  • Guests

Posted 16 October 2009 - 07:35 AM

Im new to collecting and id like to do some dipnetting this weekend. Im up in NY and it already snowed here yesterday. (Didnt stick though). So my question is when is it too cold to go collecting? Are shiners/minnows, Dace etc gonna be abundant for dip netting or do they migrate to deeper waters.

#2 Guest_BTDarters_*

Guest_BTDarters_*
  • Guests

Posted 16 October 2009 - 07:39 AM

It's never too cold to collect! Actually, I should rephrase that. It's only too cold to collect when there's no open water, or it's too cold for you to stand it. Many fish do migrate to deeper water in the winter, but you can almost always catch some if you can find open water. I strongly recommend insulated waders if you're going to go out now, though.

Brian

#3 Guest_jblaylock_*

Guest_jblaylock_*
  • Guests

Posted 16 October 2009 - 09:30 AM

JohnO and I collected all winter last year. We actually collected in places where we had to break surface ice off the water to get to the darters below. Here's my tips, though I'm sure that some with more experience may have more.

1. Waders and warm clothes
2. cover your head
3. insulated & waterproof gloves. I bought a pair of Ice Armor gloves from Dicks. Obviously you don't want to submerge your hands, but just handling the net and stuff, this will keep your hands warm and dry.

#4 Guest_nativeplanter_*

Guest_nativeplanter_*
  • Guests

Posted 16 October 2009 - 11:31 AM

My very first collecting trip was with Chip, Dustin, Charles, and some others. On the second day, there was freezing rain and our nets froze open when they weren't in the water. I had absolutely the best time. I rank that trip up there with the best I've ever had, including vacations. The company had a lot to do with it, but fish loss was very low as well.

#5 Guest_NYnativekeeper716_*

Guest_NYnativekeeper716_*