New tank and first time with natives

• Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_mikeb210_*

Guest_mikeb210_*
  • Guests

Posted 16 October 2009 - 07:10 PM

Hello all! This is my first time keeping natives. I've got a 125 gallon tank running 2 Penguin 350 HOBs with plans to add a third, or maybe a large canister. So far I've got five green sunfish and a yellow perch. I've got plans to add more fish, starting with some striped or crescent shiners if I can find them. I'll post some pictures. Please let me know what you all think of the tank/fish so far. Thanks

-Mike

Posted Image

Posted Image

Posted Image

Posted Image

#2 Guest_BTDarters_*

Guest_BTDarters_*
  • Guests

Posted 18 October 2009 - 04:08 AM

Nice pictures so far! The Green Sunfish looks very healthy. I look forward to seeing pictures that you post of the full tank! Welcome to the forum, by the way! I hope that you find your stay both enjoyable and informative!

Brian

#3 Guest_dsaavedra_*

Guest_dsaavedra_*
  • Guests

Posted 18 October 2009 - 12:29 PM

those pics are awesome! i really like the lighting, how did you achieve this? overhead flash or something?

#4 Guest_mikeb210_*

Guest_mikeb210_*
  • Guests

Posted 18 October 2009 - 11:11 PM

Thanks for the kind words and warm welcome!

I had some problems when I first added fish, some of the bluegills I added unfortunately came with parasites of some form or another. I had to put down 5 of them and only 3 green sunfish survived. One of those fish lost his tail somehow though. It started to rot and after two days, only a nub remained. That fish is one of my most aggressive and pushiest fish, so I'd say the recovery is coming along well. I've been feeding every other day with dried krill, and once every two weeks or so I'll add around two dozen mosquitofish from a local lake. They last a few days at most.