On my way to an aquarium but bass akwards

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_az9_*

Guest_az9_*
  • Guests

Posted 23 November 2009 - 10:58 PM

I finally got my RAS set up and running complete with some added ammonia to get the nitrification cycle started. The u tube siphon was giving me fits but it was because of the check valve I put on the intake end of it which kept closing down with the low pressure flow. Once I took the 2 inch check valve off no more problems. Never fails; try and reinvent the wheel and you ask for problems.

I will set up an aquarium for natives this winter but that has to come second as this tank is part of my business raising fish for a couple of niche markets. It's my first attempt at keeping fish indoors and I must say building and setting up this thing has been an adventure. At least once I get the system cycling I can move some water to an aquarium to speed up the cycling in the aquarium.

Posted Image

The epoxy coated stock tank with rotating biofilter in action. The specs call for a fish container twice the size of this but I got this tank and another by bartering so I'm making the best with what I have. Besides the basement room wouldn't be big enough for a 12 foot circular swimming pool! :mrgreen:

Posted Image

Posted Image

The U tube siphon before removing the check valve that was impeding low pressure siphon flow.

Posted Image

The drum clarifier which pulls water and settlable solids into the bottom via a u tube siphon. The suspended solids are trapped under netting that has been packed into the clarifier drum. Clarified water is pulled from the top of the netting to the biofilter frame where it drops on to paddles which turn the biofilter.

Posted Image

An iron filter I am renting to remove iron from my well water. Wow is this water clear once the iron is removed with some of that is not removed settled out.

Edited by az9, 23 November 2009 - 11:05 PM.

#2 Guest_CATfishTONY_*

Guest_CATfishTONY_*