new to live plants. need some guidance.

• Please log in to reply
36 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_sonix215_*

Guest_sonix215_*
  • Guests

Posted 07 December 2009 - 04:04 PM

Well this coming spring I'd like to go collect some live plants. I've never done live plants before and was wondering if you guys can give me some advice. Am I able to use just regular gravel? for my lighting have a 10k colored bulbs. also what about aeration? I am running a penguin350 and a whisperer something plus an 18" air line. If you guys can throw me in the right direction id appreciate it. Thanks everyone!
Mike

#2 Guest_Elijah_*

Guest_Elijah_*
  • Guests

Posted 08 December 2009 - 01:55 AM

Planted tanks are great!
My suggestion is go for a Walstad style tank.
You might find this link helpful.
http://thegab.org/Pl...anted-tank.html
I have 9 planted tanks. I have used many methods. It can get really expensive. I wish I had learned this style before I went out and spent a bunch of $ on gadgets. I set one of these up two weeks ago and the plants are growing really fast. I have no cycling issues and I have many fish in it already.
I used a 1" layer of organic compost(with a super low npk rating)covered with a 1 1/2" layer of play sand. Do not use the white play sand unless you have fish that like hard water. With this set up your ph will stay lower. Many fish like low ph, but some prefer higher. Something to keep in mind.
I also use a T-5 light set up with 2x 6700k bulbs. I do not have enough sunlight coming in to go without these lights. Old school florescent hoods generally only offer enough light for plants that do not need much light.
I do fertilize with seachem, and seachem excel once a week, but am gradually cutting back on the dosage.
Get as many plants as you can! this is the key to fighting algae, providing clean water and oxygen for you fish.