starting a snail colony as a feeding supplement

• Please log in to reply
27 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_bart_*

Guest_bart_*
  • Guests

Posted 03 January 2010 - 01:34 PM

I would like to start a snail colony in a separate tank as a food source for my darters. Does anyone recommend a specific type of snail whether it be domestic or otherwise? Would apple snails work? Can scuds and snails be cultivated in the same tank?

#2 Guest_Newt_*

Guest_Newt_*
  • Guests

Posted 03 January 2010 - 01:48 PM

Scuds and snails can absolutely be grown together. I have no experience with apple snails, but I suspect they would quickly outgrow the size where they would be edible to your darters. Left-handed pond snails, aka bladder snails (Physa and Physella species) and common ramshorn snails (Helisoma, Planorbis, and related species) are good choices. They stay relatively small, are hardy and productive, and thrive on a diet of fish food, algae, and vegetable scraps (also a good diet for scuds).

#3 Guest_schambers_*

Guest_schambers_*
  • Guests

Posted 03 January 2010 - 07:16 PM

Ramshorns or pond snails are good feeder snails. They both reproduce well. I like to crush the big ones, otherwise my tank ends up full of shells. Pieces of shell vacuum up well with my python where intact shells don't.

#4 Guest_bart_*

Guest_bart_*
  • Guests

Posted 04 January 2010 - 08:36 AM

Thanks for the replies. I did some research and found a good place to get pond snails is any local fish store. They typically are viewed as a nuisance and supposedly they will give you them for free. We'll see.

I also heard they typically prefer a higher ph for breeding as well as warmer temps. Is this true? Are there any other water parameters I should be aware of?

Other than for aesthetic reasons, is it bad to have empty snail shells lying around in my tank?

#5 Guest_gzeiger_*

Guest_gzeiger_*
  • Guests

Posted 04 January 2010 - 09:33 AM