Adult Lampetra Identification Help

• Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_Uland_*

Guest_Uland_*
  • Guests

Posted 20 March 2010 - 08:06 PM

Recently Blake and I went to Tennessee and sampled several areas. At three locations we found adult lamprey which we photographed.
I have little experience with lamprey and I'm no good at identifying them. Books have been a help but the fishes oral papillae, teeth and coloration have enough variability to have me scratching my head so I'm turning to the forum for help. I presume some of these differences can be attributed to the amount of time since they've morphed into adults but I'm honestly not sure.

All below fish were sampled from small streams and the heads of shallow riffles. All fish were returned after being photographed. At all locations the most obvious Lamprey would be Least Brook Lamprey (based on dot maps within "The Fishes of Tennessee" D. Etnier and W. Starnes)

The first fish came from a small trib of the lower Tennessee river in Hardin county Tennessee.
Posted Image
Posted Image

#2 Guest_Uland_*

Guest_Uland_*
  • Guests

Posted 20 March 2010 - 08:08 PM

The next fish came from a small-medium trib of the Collins River in Warren county
Posted Image
Posted Image

#3 Guest_Uland_*

Guest_Uland_*
  • Guests

Posted 20 March 2010 - 08:11 PM

The last two fish came from a different trib of the Collins River in Warren county.
Posted Image
Posted Image

Posted Image
Posted Image

Thanks in advance for your help guys and gals Posted Image

#4 Guest_daveneely_*

Guest_daveneely_*
  • Guests

Posted 21 March 2010 - 09:20 AM

hey Uland,

Must have been a good trip, sorry I missed it! All of those look like L. aepyptera; there's a lot of variability between pops, but the pigmentation on the caudal fin (or absence thereof) is almost always a pretty diagnostic character.

Dave

#5 Guest_Uland_*

Guest_Uland_*
  • Guests

Posted 21 March 2010 - 10:18 AM