Bashakill To Scranton, PA

14 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_bumpylemon_*

Guest_bumpylemon_*
  • Guests

Posted 10 May 2010 - 07:32 PM

Well well well I have a week off from work so last night I said where do I wanna go. Now I am on a sunfish kick so I said let's go for some bluespotted sunfish. At first I just wanted to catch them and film them. Just so I could say I caught them. So last night I went on google maps and found every spot that hat access to Bashakill and surrounding creeks. So I headed to Bashakill in SE NY at 3am. 3 and a half hours later I arrived.

Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image

What a beautiful place. WOW. First few scoops nothing. Then boom this guy.
Posted Image
Posted Image
I'm still new at IDing fish but I thought right away Redfin pickerel. Which I have yet to catch here in MA. Very pretty fish. Let him go after taking some pics. I caught about 10 smaller ones altogether. Then I grabbed a nice big scoop of duckweed and mud. BOOM a bluespotted sunfish. This thing was black with very blue dots.
Posted Image
Prior to going I was like wonder if ill be able to I'd one right away. Make no mistake I knew right away. I feel in love instantly. I mean I am a darter man but this fish was stunning. Snapped my picture and released him. I caught 9 in total in that one spot. I read that they were protected on this site. But when I looked them up I couldn't find them being "protected" I did see special concern though. Either way I left them to be on the safe side. I caught this salamander prior to leaving.
Posted Image
I still needed to catch a shield darter before my day was over. So ioff I went to check my other streets. Stopped at a creek just down the road. All I caught there were huge suckers. I'm guessing white suckers. They were a good 5-6" which i guess isnt that huge compared to how big they get. After about 10 min I moved on. Went to another creek
Posted Image
Posted Image