Is there a max Discharge cf/sec that is safe for wading?

8 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_vdub_*

Guest_vdub_*
  • Guests

Posted 01 August 2008 - 11:30 AM

I was looking at the USGS graphs for the rivers in the area, specifically the discharge one and was wondering if there is a "safe" zone or a "dangerous" zone in cubic feet per second that you should or should not be wading in? I'm new to these stats so I'm just learning how to interpret the info. Thanks.

#2 Guest_drewish_*

Guest_drewish_*
  • Guests

Posted 01 August 2008 - 12:03 PM

It is really dependent on the location. Some places may have 1000 cfs and be safe while on another river it would be hazardous. Also, if you are more experienced, you can handle higher flows.

#3 Guest_ashtonmj_*

Guest_ashtonmj_*
  • Guests

Posted 01 August 2008 - 03:28 PM

As Drew said, discharge and the realized force of flow in a stream are totally dependent upon the local conditions. I'll give you three examples from streams that are in the same region. 1) I've snorkeled in 6-8,000 CFS but the river was 200 meter wide. 2) That said, a 50 m wide river at 1500 CFS had about the same flow (0.75 meter/second). 3) In a 20 m wide stream anything over 300-450 CFS was above "normal"; again the "flow" was similar. In smaller streams higher discharge is more unsafe. Look at the long term hydrograph for a site and see what looks natural, what the median or baseflow is, what the peaks and valleys are like. Try to get information about the width of stream and gradient.

#4 Guest_vdub_*

Guest_vdub_*
  • Guests

Posted 01 August 2008 - 08:55 PM

Thanks for the info guys! I guess I didn't think about the width, as well as flow (force) being different than discharge. I did see the peaks and valleys in the chart, and they had little triangles that represented the median for that time of year. So I guess I'll go by that. I am still working on fully understanding the percentile thing shown on the website. :neutral:

#5 Guest_rjmtx_*