33 Gallon Native Tank

14 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_ni8ghtmare16_*

Guest_ni8ghtmare16_*
  • Guests

Posted 17 December 2010 - 09:43 PM

Hello there, I'm new to NANFA. I was just wondering what you guys thought about 33 gallons comapared to 29 gallons. I may be able to get the 29 gal. cheaper, but if the 33 gal. is worth the extra money, then I'll go with that.

Fauna: 6-8 Tadpole Madtoms, 15-20 Blackstriped Topminnow, several asst. Darters, and maybe some Mudminnows.

#2 Guest_Newt_*

Guest_Newt_*
  • Guests

Posted 17 December 2010 - 10:34 PM

Hello and welcome!

A 33 gallon tank has a larger footprint, which is better for bottom-dwellers like your darters and madtoms. It's also a better setup for a stream tank, if you want to try to set it up that way. On the other hand, a 29 gallon tank's height gives you more possibilities for a structured, planted tank that would be great for mudminnows.

Just a word to the wise on your stocklist: that's way too many topminnows (they become very aggressive with conspecifics when mature). Also, mudminnows and darters (depending on species) may be incompatible. Mudminnows will eat smaller darters, and their preferred weedy slackwater habitat is different from that of most darters. The madtoms and topminnows will work in either setup.

So, the gist is: pick which type of setup you want. A tall, planted mudminnow tank, or a long, stream-like darter tank.

#3 Guest_Yeahson421_*

Guest_Yeahson421_*
  • Guests

Posted 18 December 2010 - 12:29 AM

Hey there recruitee, I'd have to agree with Newt, after doing some more research I realized that the mudminnows wouldn't work. I'd say go for the stream tank, but it's up to you. I can draw up a couple design ideas today and if you want to come over tomorrow I could show them to you!

#4 Guest_ni8ghtmare16_*

Guest_ni8ghtmare16_*
  • Guests

Posted 18 December 2010 - 12:38 AM

Hello and welcome!