A few beginner Q's

9 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_jakemyster44_*

Guest_jakemyster44_*
  • Guests

Posted 30 December 2010 - 11:44 PM

I am new to keeping natives and have a few questions. I will be setting up my 75g aquarium in a month or so, so that it has time to cycle by the spring, as well as allowing the plants to become decently established. I plan to get all my fish from a nearby hatchery. I have a few ideas as far as species, but I wanted to run them by you guys just to be sure that they are compatible. I would like to keep several species in the tank, at least while they are younger. I am very aware of the adult sizes of these species, and have arrangements for the fish once they outgrow the 75g.I am considering keeping some of the following species that are available at the hatchery: Largemouth Bass, Bluegill, Black Crappie, Yellow Perch, and Channel Catfish. If possible, I'd really like to have one channel cat, two largemouth, and a crappie. Would these three species be compatible together? I am able to get them quite small (2-3 inches), and could get them around the same size, or even different sizes (maybe get the bass and catfish smaller than the crappie?). I also have a question on lighting. I plan to grow a few Vallisneria Americana as well as some Anacharis in the tank. I have a 48" single bulb over the tank, and the light it gives off IMO, is unnatural looking, having an almost bluish/purple hue. I have seen some tanks on the forum that have more natural looking lighting, more yellow and orange than blue or purple. Any advise on what type of lighting to get? Also, should I get a double bulb fixture, or will one bulb work out? I'd appreciate any advise/criticism you have to offer. Better to realize a mistake now than after I get the fish... Thanks!
-Jake

#2 Guest_EricaWieser_*

Guest_EricaWieser_*
  • Guests

Posted 31 December 2010 - 02:01 AM