New NANFA Member

2 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_mywan_*

Guest_mywan_*
  • Guests

Posted 08 January 2011 - 11:09 AM

Just payed my NANFA membership dues for the first time. Messaged Uland for a group status change but it's a bit soon to expect any action :- . I was reading Drew's post "Who is NANFA?" where he said:

If you think NANFA should have a knowledge repository / wiki / encyclopedia, take the initiative and do it.

I just registered the domain http://www.nanatives.com/ (North American Natives) with the intent of creating a content site for native species information. Not strictly limited to fish. The difficulty I have is that, not being a biologist myself, a lot the best information doesn't come with care and other information enthusiast find useful and often so spread out it's hard to keep track of it. Research for this site should be a learning experience in itself. I would like to combine phylogeny, ecological, range, identification, care, conservation, and other information generally spread among different and hard to track resources. The emphasis will be on conservation and education, but with more emphasis on hobbyist, habitat creation, and care sheets. Certainly not as extensive as EOL but hopefully it will result in something more useful to a wider variety of people and interest.

Hopefully, once I get an outline of the content going, many here will allow some of your contributions to be added directly. I will certainly honor any credits and copyrights, and will have report links for any infringement complaints. I'm also open to suggestions about the kinds of things you would like to see. I think I'll have just a basic phylogeny in a database but simply point to the directory for the appropriate detailed information. With a standardized directory structure it will make it easier to access with automated tools, including the specific data you want.

#2 Guest_Irate Mormon_*

Guest_Irate Mormon_*
  • Guests

Posted 08 January 2011 - 08:40 PM