New from St. Louis, Missouri

8 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_aquachromis_*

Guest_aquachromis_*
  • Guests

Posted 28 January 2011 - 02:58 PM

Hi everyone. I posted a brief intro in the new NANFA member area but thought I'd go ahead and post here as well. I'm new to natives but not new to fish in general. I've had a variety of tropical fish over the years. After a hiatus from the hobby for 2 years I'm finally getting back into it. I'm currently setting up a planted 55g that will house some Odessa barbs and probably 2 or 3 other species, and a 20g long for some Lake Tanganyika shell dwellers. I took advantage of the $1/gallon sale at Petco and bought 2 20g longs and a 40g breeder. I plan on setting up one 20 and the 40 as native species tanks. Right now I'm reading as much as I can about Native fish keeping before deciding what to stock the tanks with and it will probably be a few months before I'm ready for the fish. In the mean time I hope people here can help me with any questions I have and with narrowing down my list once I've found a few species I like.

Adam

#2 Guest_smbass_*

Guest_smbass_*
  • Guests

Posted 28 January 2011 - 06:29 PM

Take look through the member photo gallery to see a wide vriety of species. Seeing different species may help lead you to what species you are interested in learning more about and ultimately stocking your tanks with.

#3 Guest_jblaylock_*

Guest_jblaylock_*
  • Guests

Posted 29 January 2011 - 09:30 AM

20 longs make great riffle tanks, or so I've heard.

Welcome to NANFA. I think you will enjoy natives.

#4 Michael Wolfe

Michael Wolfe
  • Board of Directors
  • North Georgia, Oconee River Drainage

Posted 29 January 2011 - 12:48 PM

In the mean time I hope people here can help me with any questions I have and with narrowing down my list once I've found a few species I like.

Welcome to natives Adam,