Lucania goodei and Jordanella floridae

2 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_DaveGodfrey_*

Guest_DaveGodfrey_*
  • Guests

Posted 08 July 2011 - 03:52 PM

Hi, I'm a beginner fishkeeper (about 1 year in the hobby), and am particularly interested in the North American Natives. I'm from the UK, where most of our own natives are hard to come by in the shops, and many European species (the Eurasian Weather Loach Misgurnis fossilis, for example are banned (as are quite a few US species that can also cause problems like Pumpkinseeds).

I can get Bluefin Killifishes relatively readily from an LFS that has a wide selection of US species (for a UK shop], but I already have three American-Flag Fish (1M 2F) in a fairly well planted 240 litre (although possibly not densely planted enough). The male is a particularly psychotic individual. There's three Weather Loaches, and 12 White Cloud Mountain Minnows, and they're either big enough for him to ignore them, or fast and numerous enough for his aggression to be spread out- so I'm getting close to my stocking limits here anyway.

I've read the threads here, but still have a couple of questions.

How well will the Bluefins cope with my angry fish? I did have a group of bitterlings (very peaceful unless you show them a Swan Mussel, at which point one male will become territorial), and while they never really thrived, I'm sure the aggression from the Jordanella did not help matters, and very probably hastened their demises. A few people have said they're trying it, and I'm wondering how they're getting on six months/a year down the line.

How many do I need in a group for them to be comfortable, and will that help with the Jordanella? I've read conflicting reports of how shoaling they are. The general consensus seems to be that they're happier if there's more of them, which is fine. But if they're going to be just as unhappy with 8 as with 2 with Mr Grumpyfins picking on them, then there probably isn't much point in going for them.