~25 gallon riffle tank

11 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_NiceLox_*

Guest_NiceLox_*
  • Guests

Posted 14 July 2011 - 11:42 AM

Hi everyone,

I’m basically a total novice who is into Michigan ecology and happens to have a fish tank. I've been looking at the information here and in some books and I've half come up with a set-up for an all native 79cmX30cmX42cm tank (approx 93 liters or 25 gallons). The goal is to have a mini-ecosystem with plants that can be eaten by shrimp and snails, which can be eaten by a few fish. Breeding of invertebrates would be nice and from what I’ve read they just need food and places to hide. Here’s my plan, please give any hints, tips, and advice.

I've got an HOB filter and will probably also add a power head for a riffle tank with gravel substrate and broken pottery shards as places for creatures to hide.

Plant wise, I would like to have a good light (recommendations welcome) that would encourage algae growth as well as support floating Ceratophylum submersum(soft hornwort) and Vallisneria americana (water celery) planted along the back and side away from the power head. A small lily would be nice, but probably pushing it.

As for invertebrates, it seems like Palaemonetes kadiakensis (glass/grass/ghost shrimp) and Mysis diluviana/relicta (opossum shrimp) are abundant, cheap, and native. Some snails would be cool, too if anyone has ones they like and think would go well.

Coming around to the vertebrates, Etheostoma blennioides blennioides (greenside darter) and Margariscus nachtriebi (northern pearl dace) look great to me (and I’ve heard they go well together) and I would like a salamander if there’s a good one for this community. I’d rather understock the vertebrates so that they won’t eat everything else. Are there any good guides as to how many fish to stock in a given size tank?