fish i.d

• Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_MINNOW_*

Guest_MINNOW_*
  • Guests

Posted 01 August 2011 - 09:12 PM

ok is this a creek chub !!! sorry bout the pics ,it was dark and the mosquito's were killing me. thanks
Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image

#2 Guest_EricaWieser_*

Guest_EricaWieser_*
  • Guests

Posted 01 August 2011 - 09:36 PM

What camera model do you have? I'd be able to look it up and point out the macro button for you. That helps a lot when taking close up photos.

#3 Guest_EricaWieser_*

Guest_EricaWieser_*
  • Guests

Posted 01 August 2011 - 09:50 PM

According to http://www.enature.c...p?recNum=FI0423 , the creek chub has 9 dorsal fin rays and the sandhill chub, a similar species, has 9 dorsal fin rays. Where did you find this fish? The range can help identify it.

Also, I'm no expert (not at all), but that fish doesn't really look like this image: http://www.fcps.edu/.../creek_chub.htm Was the fish you caught in spawning colors?

Edited by EricaWieser, 01 August 2011 - 09:55 PM.

#4 Michael Wolfe

Michael Wolfe
  • Board of Directors
  • North Georgia, Oconee River Drainage

Posted 01 August 2011 - 10:12 PM

ok is this a creek chub !!!

No, it is not... looks more Luxilus to me in body and head shape... my Peterson's says you have common shiners in Mass... and even shows the red edges to the fins that I think I see...

...asking is of course OK... but check out the book... 15 bucks and you can study up on em, and learn em right there before the mosquitos can get a chance to eat you up...

http://www.amazon.co...d/dp/0547242069
Either write something worth reading or do something worth writing. - Benjamin Franklin

#5 Guest_fundulus_*

Guest_fundulus_*
  • Guests

Posted 01 August 2011 - 10:14 PM

Yeah, that fish is a Luxilus and almost certainly cornutus at that.

#6 Guest_Irate Mormon_*

Guest_Irate Mormon_*
  • Guests

Posted 01 August 2011 - 11:18 PM