new!

7 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_allaboutfish_*

Guest_allaboutfish_*
  • Guests

Posted 02 August 2011 - 07:09 AM

ok so im new to the frorum. i dont really technically keep any native fish from my the united states, but i do keep gardneri biassa killifish(native to africa) in a species only ten gallon tank. i will most likely be setting up a tank for everglades pygmy sunfish in around a month or so in another 10 gallon.i have the tank and filter i just need plants to grow in my other tanks so i can take some for it. well those are really my "native" tanks. i have 3 other tanks a 29 gallon community, a 20 gallon long brackish with land crab tank, and a 5 gallon betta tank which dont have natives in them. ok so i do have a question and want to know if someone can answer it. i live in TN and want to make sure its not illegal to sell killifish, corys, or pygmy sunfish via internet or local fish stores.thanks for having me!!!

Attached Images

• killi male.jpg
  • killi female.jpg
  • male killi.jpg
  • male killi two.jpg
  • 29 gallon.jpg

Edited by allaboutfish, 02 August 2011 - 07:09 AM.

#2 Guest_EricaWieser_*

Guest_EricaWieser_*
  • Guests

Posted 02 August 2011 - 11:53 AM

Cute killifish in that first picture. It looks like it's smiling :D

Pygmy sunfish are great fish. A 10 gallon tank is a nice sized home for them. And yes, they love plants. The sand that you have in the photos of your tanks would make a good topping for the substrate in the pygmy sunfish tank. Pygmy sunfish eggs are about the size of a grain of sand, so when people use something larger like gravel, the eggs can get stuck in between the rocks. But I can't imagine your rooted plants are growing very well in just sand? Do you fertilize?

I don't know anything about the laws in TN, but I can give you the phone number for the Tennessee Wildlife Resources Agency: (615) 781-6500. Maybe they'll know more about a license for selling fish. Or maybe someone else from this forum can comment.