ID help please

• Please log in to reply
21 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_sbtgrfan_*

Guest_sbtgrfan_*
  • Guests

Posted 30 August 2011 - 04:53 PM

Hello,

I just caught these in a local creek here in the upstate of South Carolina and I could use some ID help. I'm still learning the fish, so I'm looking for assistance this go around.

I'm thinking this is a Northern Hog Sucker?

Posted Image

I'm thinking this is a Creek Chub?

Posted Image

And I can't think of the name of these, I know I've seen them before and know they're some type of shiner, just can't think of the name...

Posted Image

Thanks for your help!

Edited by sbtgrfan, 30 August 2011 - 04:56 PM.

#2 Guest_Yeahson421_*

Guest_Yeahson421_*
  • Guests

Posted 30 August 2011 - 04:58 PM

The first 2 are right, but I'm not sure about the third.

#3 Guest_jblaylock_*

Guest_jblaylock_*
  • Guests

Posted 30 August 2011 - 05:03 PM

The first two are correct. What river drainage did you catch the shiners from?

#4 Guest_UncleWillie_*

Guest_UncleWillie_*
  • Guests

Posted 30 August 2011 - 06:37 PM

IDs are correct. First glance at the third fish I was thinking yellowfin shiner or greenhead shiner. I have personally never seen greenheads, so I was thinking yellowfin. However, nearly all yellowfins I catch locally have white fins. However, yellowfins can can fins that are yellow, white, orange... which makes me think your fish may just be another color variant.

Please note the NANFA code of ethics. Please do not remove fishes from their body of water until you have confirmed and properly identified the species you plan to take.

#5 Guest_sbtgrfan_*

Guest_sbtgrfan_*
  • Guests

Posted 30 August 2011 - 08:10 PM

Thanks for the replies. Good to hear I'm right on the first two IDs. That's a step in the right direction for me!