New guy here

11 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_Mustang302_*

Guest_Mustang302_*
  • Guests

Posted 01 June 2012 - 01:34 AM

Hey everyone, new here from Bristol, Pennsylvania. This is my first try at keeping some natives I've always had oscars and other cichlids. A few days ago I caught a rock bass, and 2 sunfish but not sure which ones i think they are longears but not %100. I really want to go get a pumpkinseed there colors are awesome I think, but anyways. They are in my 55g tank right now but they are REALLY shy, im used to my oscar being excited to see me when I come up to the tank. These guys just hide and the rock bass FREAKS out when I turn the light on. Will they ever warm up to me and stop being shy/scared?

#2 Michael Wolfe

Michael Wolfe
  • Board of Directors
  • North Georgia, Oconee River Drainage

Posted 01 June 2012 - 06:34 AM

Welcome, glad you joined us here.

The short answer is 'yes' most sunfish will learn that you are the food guy and will stop being so afraid and will beg at the front glass, etc. However, some of that is a little bit dependent on size. Smaller (younger) fish seem to adapt to tank life more quickly than larger (older) fish that may be, well for lack of a better phrase 'set in there ways'. In my experience the smallest fish that you can (legally of course) take home will make the best aquarium fish.

Keep being patient, try to get some ambient room light on before you just snap on the aquarium lights, approach the tank slowly, try not to stand so that you are looming over the fish, but coming from the side or even below...stuff like that... most will acclimate in a few weeks.
Either write something worth reading or do something worth writing. - Benjamin Franklin

#3 Guest_EricaWieser_*

Guest_EricaWieser_*
  • Guests

Posted 01 June 2012 - 07:02 AM