Need some advice on a new tank I'm planning

11 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_Namor_*

Guest_Namor_*
  • Guests

Posted 24 November 2012 - 02:00 PM

Hello all, I've been a long time lurker on these forums and have finally decided to do a native tank. I've been keeping both marine and freshwater tanks for many years so am not a novice, but I wanted to do something a little different this time. I want to do a 150 gallon tank (48inx24inx30in). Thing is I want to do it with a Cagles turtle (a map turtle from Texas that gets anywhere from 4.5 to 6.5 inches in size) and have a water depth of 24 in (leaving a 6 in gap of air at the top of the tank). I was interested in adding some (I was thinking about 6) longear sunfish to the tank and a couple of madtoms (speckled, tadpole, or black, unsure of the number). I planned on having quite a bit of submerged rockwork and logs, with a "bank" style cliff for the turtle to sun and have some land area. I think my water parameters will be slightly acidic and a temp of around 70-75 degrees. I am planning on wet dry filtration with the addition of a fluidized bed filter in the sump. I also plan on having it heavily planted and having duckweed on the waters surface and a stand of planted dwarf cattails in a pot (disguised by rockwork). I just wanted to double check for feedback and maybe anything I may have missed. The tank is primarily for the turtle, but I wanted a little bit of aquatic life as well. Also, do you think larger crawfish would kill and eat the madtoms? I am also unsure if the Longears would harrass the crawfish.

#2 Guest_EricaWieser_*

Guest_EricaWieser_*
  • Guests

Posted 24 November 2012 - 02:07 PM

One thing you might be interested is using styrofoam or Great Stuff foam. You're describing a very beautiful setup that I can only imagine would be made easier by the use of foam. Also remember to silicone your rocks together while they're dry so they don't slip apart and crash into the tank after being submerged.