75 gallon stocking?

4 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_stellyj11_*

Guest_stellyj11_*
  • Guests

Posted 04 March 2013 - 01:34 PM

Hey yall! First off I just wanna say that I am new to the native scene but have experience with tropicals. I love this website and have already learned so much from it and look forward to learning more! That being said, I am in trouble here. I have a 75 gallon tank and wide eyes that have found a bunch of fish that I want! I was always a cichlid lover but these natives are just stunning so now I'm torn! I'm trying to see if I can keep natives with CA/SA cichlids and a bichir. So heres my tentative list:
1- Jack Dempsey
1- Green Terror
1- Bichir Delhezi
1- Pumpkinseed Sunfish
1- Longear Sunfish
Another problem that I have run into is the availability of sunfish in my area. I currently attend East Carolina University in North Carolina and will be moving here from Chesapeake, Virginia. So any places that I could get sunfish around either area would work. Thank yall so much for helping me out on this one in advance!

#2 Guest_davidjh2_*

Guest_davidjh2_*
  • Guests

Posted 05 March 2013 - 04:14 PM

Aren't Jack Dempsy's highly aggressive? I don't think the sunfish would survive being in the tank with one. I made the mistake of putting a couple of Redbreast sunfish in with some African cihlids once. That's a mistake I'll never make again the poor things never had a chance.

#3 Guest_stellyj11_*

Guest_stellyj11_*
  • Guests

Posted 05 March 2013 - 05:45 PM

Jacks are actually pretty shy comparatively to other large american cichlids. They can do some damage if you get a mean enough one :P but typically they're less aggressive if in tanks with other large fish where they know they're not king of the roost.

#4 Guest_EricaWieser_*

Guest_EricaWieser_*
  • Guests

Posted 05 March 2013 - 06:47 PM