New here

7 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_Lucky62_*

Guest_Lucky62_*
  • Guests

Posted 08 March 2007 - 10:55 PM

My name is Joe , I've been keeping fish for over 30 years , mostly tropical .
But have an interest in natives , I have 6 young Sunfish that were given to me and I would like to try and ID , I'll post pictures when I have a chance .

I will most likely release them in the lake they were found after the weather has warmed up for a while .

I would like find and keep some Pygmies , Okies or Everglades . Don't know if it's legal , or where to find them .

Also I would like keep some darters .

Anyway thanks for having me . :smile:

#2 Guest_viridari_*

Guest_viridari_*
  • Guests

Posted 08 March 2007 - 11:40 PM

Hi Joe, and welcome to the forum!

The http://www.nanfa.org web site has a lot of pointers to help you get started with keeping natives but the forum here can be very helpful in resolving issues that might come up along the way, or just to share success stories with others who can appreciate what it is you're enjoying.

Though I expect you're likely to get a lot of folks here discouraging you (and rightly so) from releasing those sunfishes back into the wild. Fishes pick up all kinds of pathogens in captivity and most of the time we, as aquarists, can treat the pathogens if they cause symptoms in the fish while they are in our captivity. Once a fish has been in captivity, it should never be released back into the wild for fear of these exotic pathogens being introduced into the wild.

However, there is a pretty good chance you could give those sunfishes a long healthy life in captivity. If you'd really rather not, I promise not to cringe if you decide to fry them up in a pan and eat them instead of throwing them back in the wild. Though I can't speak for everyone here on that point. :smile:

#3 Guest_AndrewAcropora_*

Guest_AndrewAcropora_*
  • Guests

Posted 08 March 2007 - 11:41 PM

Welcome to the boards!